I have been shy of mentioning it to all but a few but I am very fortunate to be one of the speakers at the first ever TEDx in Aarhus.
It will be common knowledge very soon as the publicity machine kicks in.
TED is a global phenomenon in case you’re unfamiliar. Talks of up to 18 minutes are filmed and put online.
Their intention is summed up in the line ‘Ideas worth sharing’.
TEDx is an independently organised event but the organisers have to stick to a strict code of conduct.
I was nominated as a speaker, which came as a huge surprise.
The over-arching topic is ‘To the moon and back’.
My sideline obsession is to do with all things infrastructural - the boring bits and pieces that make the world work.
So I chose to talk about the boring things that made the Space Shuttle work.
I submitted a video explaining what my talk would be about.
Then I was interviewed by curators.
Then, while we were on holiday, I got the call.
I’m now in the throes of the preparation for the Big Day, which is October 1st.
Yesterday was first rehearsal. It was in a lecture theatre at Aarhus Business School.
I had to perform in front of the TEDx team, including my personal curator.
They’re an amazing team and I’ve learned such a lot.
I stayed around to see most of my fellow speakers over a five hour period before my slot at 815pm.
I’m pleased to say the curators liked my talk and the feedback was warm and positive.
All the other speakers are either supremely academic or amazingly impressive in some way.
So I feel like the warm-up act.
One of my fellow speakers is a lovely young Michelin star chef who runs a restaurant just around the corner.
He’s Danish so I’m helping him polish his wonderful story about reaching for the stars.
Being part of TEDx is a huge privilege.
If you get it right, it can be a ticket to huge success.
I am pretending not to feel intimidated by the news that all 800 seats have been sold.
As the countdown begins, I am trying to make an effort to look after myself.
My speech lasts about 15 minutes and it needs to be learned off by heart.
No auto-cue. No slides. Just a plastic Lego model of the Shuttle.